Existence by Abbi Glines Review

Existence by Abbi Glines is a young adult novel about a high school girl Pagan Moore who can see dead people or as she describes them souls, written in Pagan’s voice she explains how she had been seeing the dead all her life and they do not bother her or talk to her, it seems to her that the dead cannot talk at all. Then one day she sees a soul who does talk to her, a good looking boy blue eyed boy (aren’t they always?) and he continues to talk to her and become a presence in her life even if he is unseen by the rest of the world.

download (1)

I think I gave this book a 2/5 stars on Goodreads, it was okay honestly there wasn’t much to the main character Pagan, I found her irritating mainly because throughout the majority of the book she is pining of Leif her Quarterback boyfriend and then all of her sudden death rocks up and she’s in love with him and Leif has been demoted to book carrier. Just to make things more confusing death proceeds to disappear for most of the book leaving Pagan giving Bella Swan in New Moon a run for her money in the depression stakes!

This book had been on my TBR for a while and honestly if had I checked Goodreads before reading it I probably wouldn’t have bothered because it’s got some pretty low scores but, I do think it is a novel with a lot of potential. I love the idea of death a God or some kind of deity that can fall in love and the problems that would potentially present but I think I was expecting more Meet Joe Black than New Moon meets The Vampire Diaries.

The best thing about this while book was Pagan’s best friend Gee, she is so hilarious and every time she came onto the page she had me laughing out loud, she’s one of my favourite literary friends ever. Read this book, even if it’s just for Gee, it’s totally worth it.

Over all not really my thing, but had some good points. 2/5 stars Peggy Ann!

Oh, by the way death’s name is Dank and he was in a rock band…no really…

2 thoughts on “Existence by Abbi Glines Review

  1. Oh, too bad the book only follows the typical YA pattern! I actually really liked the cover of it but I’ll probably remove the book from my wishlist after this review! :)

Leave a Reply

