Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo Gricha Book 2 (Spoiler Free)

Siege and Storm is the second novel in the Gricha trilogy and I should probably say straight away that I am not big fan. I loved Shadow and Bone, but when reading Siege and Storm I just couldn’t fall into the book as easily as I had done with book one.

Siege and Storm 2dsf

Gorgeous book cover

My major problem is that I am struggling to know who to root for, obviously not the Darkling unless there is going to be some kind of major plot twist. I just found it really hard to connect with the characters this time around, I’m not even sure that Mal and Alina’s relationship is believable, his whole role in this novel is to guard her… I sorry but dull. Where is the passion, the romance, why I aren’t I rooting for this couple? When I feel nothing for a character or a set of characters and lose the will to know how their journey works out something has gone wrong and I can’t even put my finger on what it was.

Prince Nikolai was a great ray of light in this book, I found him an interesting and diverse anti-hero and every moment he is on the page I have no idea if he is good, evil or somewhere in the middle and he delivers some cracking one liners to Alina. It’s a shame she can’t be a but more sassy they could of had some great banter.

It’s hard for me to say what exactly I did and didn’t like because  it was a compilation of things – there was lots of getting on and off of boats and I found that really irritating because there wasn’t any real world building or description of where the characters were and their environment always seemed hazy unless they were in a palace, which is obviously self explanatory.

I should probably worn anyone who is planning on reading this book that it is very, very, open ended and there is a bit of a wait until the third book is out.

All in all I would give this about a 2.5/5

Poor sequel to a great first book, this book made me fall out of love with characters I had previously loved particularly Mal who hopefully perks up a bit by book 3.

It’s not all bad Mal there’s plenty more Gricha in the sea…PLEASE!

One thought on “Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo Gricha Book 2 (Spoiler Free)

Leave a Reply

