Angelfall by Susan Ee Review

Some spoilers ahead

Angelfall is Susan Ee’s hugely successful self published young adult novel this book started off small but my god had it grown some wings and taken on a life of its own. This is what authors dream of, this is a real self publishing success now with print editions, a sequel and third book on the way AngelFall (Penryn and the end of days) really has made its mark.

ang

So Angelfall does exactly what it says on the tin, Angels have fallen and they are reeking havoc on earth – this is a real dystopian drama and at its heart is Penryn a teenage girl who is just trying to survive with her mum and younger sister, that is until she meets the angel Raffe.

So I loved this book, it was such a nice surprise to open a  young adult novel and not have to endure a predictable romance page after page, while reading Angelfall I was waiting for some kind of predictable Twilight esk romance to begin and it never  came which left me wanting which is the best feeling when at the start of a trilogy.  Penryn is an excellent leading lady, she is a kick ass, take no prisoners kind of chick and I like that, and I like that she can hold on to that part of herself when the world is literally falling around her ears. Not to mention that she has one mental mother to contain with, from the word go Penryn’s mum makes for some awkward reading but by the end of the book she is my favourite character and has a great story arch of her own.

I have read a few angel books recently most recently the Halo/Hades/Heaven series all which I have reviewed on my blog and all I can say is that this just smashes Halo right out of the park. I think Angelfall has allowed real scope for the series to develop and in in my opinion there is a love story there but building slowly like a beautiful Raffe shaped flame and although I am eager for more Raffe and Penryn Angelfall isn’t all about the love story which is really refreshing.

fhdf

The second book in the Angelfall series called World After and it’s out now and I will be picking it up ASAP I just need to know what happens next! I would defiantly recommend Angelfall to other readers it’s something different and a refreshing change in the young adult genre this book is a real page turner and I was well and truly blown away.

3 thoughts on “Angelfall by Susan Ee Review

Leave a Reply

