My Favourite Epigraphs

Epigraphs are a strange thing, they are when, at the beginning of a book an author posts a quotation from another authors work often best describing their own novel, story or the characters within. Here are a few of my favorites – 

kzvn

‘I wish you to know that you have been the last dream of my soul…Since I knew you, I have been troubled by a remorse that I thought would never reproach me again, and have heard whispers from old voices impelling me upward, that I thought were silent forever. I had unformed ideas of striving afresh, beginning anew, shaking off sloth and sensuality, and fighting out he abandoned fight. A dream, all a dream, that ends in nothing…’  – Charles Dickens A Tale of Two Cities 

– Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

klvk

Vengeance is mine I will repay – Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

jcxizcvj

“These violent delights have violent ends 
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder, 
Which, as they kiss, consume” 
                                              -Romeo and Juliet, William Shakespeare, ACT 2 scene 6 

                                              – New Moon by Stephanie Meyer 

jij

Don’t Believe in everything you see. 

Because what you want might not be what you need.

Hold your breath and jump with me, and we’ll survive.” 

                                                                            – Phillip Phillips Tell Me a Story 

                                                                            – There is No Light in the Darkness by Claire Contreras

If you have any favourite epigraphs let me know, I would love to hear them!

 

One thought on “My Favourite Epigraphs

  1. Cool post! I did a similar thing a while ago on my blog after I saw it on youtube and was really hoping to snoop at some of other people’s choices 😛 I really love yours, especially that Dickens one 🙂 Just discovered your blog and will be sure to check out some more posts!
    Rachel
    p.s. here is a link to my epigraph post so you can have a peep and compare notes! Dashing Good Books – Epigraphs

Leave a Reply

