The Shakespeare Challenge 2014!

Shakespeare, The Bard, just plain old Will, how ever you want to refer to him, whether you love him, hate him, you have to admit the guy had a way with words, but for some Shakespeare can be a bit intimidating. I’ve never really been intimidated by Shakespeare but definitely found him easier to understand in the confines of the class room and it was in that environment that I managed to get my head around (and fall in love with) Romeo and Juliet and Twelfth Night but, as a recent university graduate needless to say my class room days are over and if I want to learn more I have to go forth and discover Shakespeare all by myself.

vj;dvjSo, in a bid to expand my Shakespeare vocabulary I am creating my very own 2014 Shakespeare project- this year I want to attempt to read everyone of Shakespeare’s texts with hopefully a decent level of understanding and, I have decided to start with Much Ado About Nothing (just keeping it light). There is no better way, in my opinion at least, of understanding Shakespeare than watching the television and movie adaptations that are available first as long as you keep an open mind and keep aware, knowing that this is an adapted version of the original tale and in some cases the text.

So with this in mind in a bid to help me with my Shakespeare project I have decided to watch (and review) the BBC series Shakespeare re-told a series that re-told some of Shakespeare’s stories and adapted then within the modern day with modern day sensibilities. I’m sure this is going to be interesting and fun but I think it will also be a great way to wet my pallet and get my head around the stories I am unfamiliar with before I jump right into the original text.

bcxbx

Much Ado about Nothing BBC Shakespeare Re-told

I will talk about each play as I complete it, I’m not sure review is the right word when it comes to Shakespeare- I will share my experiences and feelings about the story upon completing.

Wish me luck in my Shakespeare challenge 2014, and all that I discover on the way!

Leave a Reply

