We Were Liars by E.Lockhart review

” We are liars. We are beautiful and privileged. We are cracked and broken.” 

16143347

This book has been so hyped some loved it, some were not that impressed, but I had to find out for myself what all the fuss was about.

The rich beautiful Sinclair family holiday on their private island every year, told through the eyes of the Sinclair families oldest grandchild, Cadence she describes the island, the escapism and magic it provides and the secrets it holds for her and her two cousins and their friend Gat.

The best way to go into this book is blind – when something happens on island that Cadence cannot remember she realizes that her family and even her beloved cousins and Gat our keeping the truth from her. Desperate to find out the secrets the island holds  she makes it her mission to find out but she could never have prepared herself for what was waiting for her.

This is a very short, quick read, unfortunately I think there was too much hype so by the time I got around to reading it I knew SOMETHING was going happen and I couldn’t help but wait for it. Putting that aside I really enjoyed it, I loved E. Lockhart’s writing style which was almost poetic and kept me engaged, I also think the length of the book is perfect for what the story actually was. I was easily sucked into the world and atmosphere of the island, feeling the sun on my skin and waves crashing against my toes it really it a beautifully written book.

As for the ending- I cried, it was great, and terrible and everything in between.

3 thoughts on “We Were Liars by E.Lockhart review

  1. I definitely agree that the hype surrounding the book can kill it a little bit. I tried to forget it when I picked up the book, but like you said, I already knew something was going to happen so I spent most of the book trying to figure it out (although my theories were super pathetic)

Leave a Reply

