The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – Review

So Mocking Jay Part 1 is out… I am so completely behind when it comes to this series, therefore I have banned myself from seeing the movie until I have read the books. The fact I have seen The Hunger Games and Catching Fire before reading them is just unnatural!

the hunger games

Although I feel that I have a sort of warped sense of the story because I know the films so well, I really enjoyed this book. If you don’t know what this is about (and if you don’t where have you been living?)

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. But Katniss has been close to death before-and survival, for her, is second nature.

This is such an easy book to fly through at the same time forming such an emotional attachment to the Characters – in my case particularly Peeta. I found that I didn’t like book Katniss as much as I liked film Katniss I guess it was because we hear the story from her perspective and sometimes hearing someones inner most thoughts cab be a bit off putting. (This is why I like to read the book first, seeing the film first just confuses things).

Other than that it was a love for me, I have moved straight on to Catching Fire book two in the trilogy, I can’t wait for Mocking Jay.

4/5 stars!

One thought on “The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – Review

Leave a Reply

