Me Before You – Review (Spoiler free-ish)

Book – Me Before You

Author- Jo Jo Moyes 

Genre – Contemporary Romance

Rating – 4/5 Stars

me before you 1

Firstly I think I should say I don’t read a lot of ‘Chick Lit’ I do hate to give any book that label because lets be honest it’s just so god damn condescending but for the sake of time and throwing all morals all out the window lets just say that’s what Me Before is (it’s not it’s so much more).

When it comes to Contemporary fiction as a whole weather there is romance or not I am picky and reluctant to pick it up in the first place on the whole I find it all a bit predictable maybe that’s a stereotype (it definitely is!) But whatever.

me before you 2

I have had this book on my TBR for a while but I guess it got forgotten amongst all my other books UNTIL I found out that it was going to be a film with Emilia Clarke from Game of Thrones as a massive Game of Thrones fan I immediately picked it up and boy I was not disappointed. Having just just finished a high fantasy novel this book was the most terrific pallet cleanser I fell into the world of Will a quadriplegic and Lou his twenty- seven year old carer. This book his a love story but it is also a story of family and a beautiful two sided discussion about the right to die.

me before you 3 

First Look at Emilia Clarke as Lou

I loved this book, it was beautiful I finished it last night and I’m still thinking about Lou and Will and their own separate and mutual plight. Before reading many reviews told me I would cry- I did not cry so I was slightly disappointed on the tear jerker front of things. (But I feel this says slightly more about me than it does the book)

All the characters were totally three dimensional and I loved Lou and Will – his sarcasm made up a lot of the book humour for me – also Nathan his carer – Brilliant! He provided such a great third party perspective.

Lou Pat

Lou and her boyfriend Patrick (it’s only bloody Neville LongBottom!) 

I did not love Lou’s family they were well written I just didn’t like them I personally found them selfish and were so hard on Lou and expected her to provide for them including her sisters child. – But that is just one perceptive and they were still a loving family. (And just because I didn’t like them doesn’t mean that other reader won’t.) As you can see I could talk about this book forever, I loved it, please read it, let Lou and Will into your hearts and never let them go.

Great book/read it/NOW! 4/5 STARS

9 thoughts on “Me Before You – Review (Spoiler free-ish)

  1. Pingback: The Greek God Tag!

Leave a Reply

