Books that I come back to again and again…

I have been hearing a lot recently about books that have made a big impact on us, books that means somethings too us and books we come back to again and again and one name I keep hearing again and again is Harry Potter. Now, I have seen the films and I guess when I was growing up I somehow missed the Harry Potter boat but after hearing what I was missing out on I decided to read the books which before you start guys yes I loved. But this isn’t about what everyone else loves I wanted write about the books that have stayed with me throughout my life and the ones I want to go back to again.

Goosebumps by R.L Stine

H253_SCH_GB7_Dummy_0.tif

I remember being a child and loving the Goosebumps books scaring my self silly and thumbing the pages again and again. If for some Harry Potter ignited there love of reading the Goosebumps series definitely helped my fire grow into a roaring blaze.

P.S I Love You by Cecila Ahern

p.s I love you

 I love, love, love this novel which I later found out was Ceceila Ahern’s debut written at the age of twenty-one. It is the story of Holly and Gerry two people who were just meant for each other that is until Gerry dies of cancer (not a spoiler), and the series of love letters he leaves behind.  This book is the first book I ever read where I both laughed and cried and I mean real sobbing; it’s beautiful and is still (it has been some years since I first read it) the first book I recommend to people who are after a romance. When the movie came out (sigh) and I know it happens to all of us when our favourite books are adapted into movies but Hilary Swank was just not how I picture Holly and to top it off my favourite, belly laugh moment and tear jerker moment had both been cut from the movie. All I’m saying guys is that the film does not do the book justice read it trust me it will stay with you forever.

p.s i love u

Hilary Swank as Holly

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pride and

My favourite of all Austen’s novel but for me it was the character of Elizabeth Bennett who stayed with me- a strong, independent and free willed woman she is one of my favourite fictional women of all time. I couldn’t mention Pride and prejudice with out at least mentioning Mr Darcy (sigh) I love a good Austen adaptation as much as the next gal but Mathew McFadden will always be Darcy too me. (Sorry Colin)

pride

 

Elizabeth and Mr Darcy (2005)

You Had Me At Hello

15733851

This book is a classic case of the blurb does not do it justice and I fear I won’t be able to either but the feels guys oh the feels… You Had Me at Hello is about two best friends who meet at university (boy/girl situation you know the deal) anyway in their last days of university there is some mis-communication leading them to lead very separate lives. Ten years later they are reunited… The story is told in both the past and the present leading up to what separates them and the now. I have read this book so many times, every time my heart is broken and every time I come back for me. It’s probably my favourite contemporary romance novel of all time.

Summer in February by Jonathan Smith

345309

One of things I love about Summer in February is that it is a true story adapted by Jonathan Smith from the diaries of the main character Captain Gilbert Evans. The book follows a famous colony of artists which included A.J Munnings and Laura and Harold Night. This tragic tale follows the love triangle between A.J Munnings, Captain Evans and A.J’s wife Florence. The books is full of love and art and tragedy and whats more it all true. It been adapted to film starring Dan Stevens and Emily Browning.

Gilbert and Florence

 Gilbert and Florence A Summer in February 

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

me before you 1

I have only just read and reviews this book so I don’t want to go on about it too much. The reason Me Before You makes it onto this list is that it has stayed with me every where I go Me Before You is in the back of my mind and every time I try to start something new I put it down again because nothing compares to the world I have left behind. Me Before You = Book Hang over.

These are all books that either mean something to me or have stayed with me over time I would love to hear about yours. x

Leave a Reply

