The Likeness by Tana French – Review

the likeness

Author – Tana French

Publisher-  Hodder and Stoughton (2008)

Genre – Crime  

Number in series – 2# (Dublin Murder Squad)

The Likeness is the second book in Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad series the first book In The Woods I have previously reviewed in this blog click here to check it out – Click Here

The book follows Detective Cassie Maddox still traumatized from the events in book one and trying to enjoy an easier life away from the Murder Squad; she is dragged back into the life she left behind when a young woman is murdered. The victim is not just another murder victim for Cassie though, the girl is Cassie’s exact doppelganger.

This is about as much as I can tell you with out get  all ‘spoiler-y’ so –

I am really starting to enjoy Tana French’s writing style she is a really suck you in and keep you kind of writer which I love, as far as I can tell the Murder Squad series focus’ on a new detective each book  which I am really starting to enjoy. Characters like our main girl Cassie who were secondary in book one but totally lovable get a whole book of their own in book two which is great. Book three is staring Frank Cassie’s boss who is witty and a right git so I am really excited to pick up book three.

Over all The Likeness was a good read but it wasn’t quite as good as book one and I’m only human so comparisons are inevitable. The Likeness is full of humor and relationships and a really tangled web which was really interesting to watch Cassie untangle.

For me though it was a little but longer than it needed to be and I guessed the killer and let me tell you I am no Sherlock Holmes! ;-p

Over all it was a good solid read and part of a series that I have every interest of continuing with.

Paint and Butterflies rating – butterflies  butterflies  butterflies  out of 5 Butterflies paint

One thought on “The Likeness by Tana French – Review

Leave a Reply

