Top 5 Wednesday – Tropes I hate!

Hey guys!

Yes it’s Wednesday and you know what that means it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday a weekly post hosted by gingerreadslainey a fabulous Vlogger over on Youtube.. Here are my top 5 I’d love to hear some of yours as well.

  1. Lack of parents/Guardians in YA novels.

Okay so I am mainly looking at you YA! What is wrong with all the parents in YA novels? Hello these books are about teenagers, I’m a twenty something now but when I was sixteen/seventeen I had parents, I had rules. A lot of the time (not all the time) YA books skip over the fact that the main protagonist might have to be home by a certain time or might actually have to tell their parent  who the  creepy dude with sparkly skin is. They were wondering why he was loitering in the drive way. Alot of the time parents in YA get in the way and stop the story moving forward so they are just erased, or become bad parents for the ease of the plot. Just saying.

Main offenders for me – Obviously Twilight.

Top 5 Wednesday 1

I know what you’re going to say, but Bella has parents she’s got Charlie, and that flighty Mum of hers. Charlie though, really? Lets face it he was pretty much useless. His teenage daughter ran off with a vampire, married said vampire and got pregnant. And it all happened since she came and lived her Dad, I’m not rating those parenting skills Charlie boy. All the while the mother (name forgotten )was off with that baseball player. Twilight = parenting minefield.

Other offenders-

The Mortal instruments City of Bones – I love this series but Clary’s mum is unconscious before we even know what a Shadow Hunter is.

Top 5 Wednesday 2

2. Insta Love

Oh god Insta Love. He looked into her eyes and Bam. Oh please. Next!!

Offenders-

Twilight (again sorry)

Top 5 Wednesday 3

Halo (Book 1)

Halocover

3.Love triangles

Now I’m not completely against a good love triangle if it’s done well then great I’m all for it but what I hate is knowing from the very beginning who this chick/chico is going to choose. Wading my way through a series (just in case) or because an unfinished series is, lets face it the devil. Only to find out that I knew the answer – Chapter 1 Book 1. Don’t waste my time people, I liked to be kept guessing.

Offender- The Selection

Top 5 Wednesday 8

4. Every man who comes in contact with female protagonist falls in love with her/obsessed with her/insanely attracted to her.

Twilight again, is an obvious example and so is the Fifty Shades series but then it  is Twilight fan fiction so whatever. I like to call this the Bella Swan effect. When a girl who thinks she is so plain (Blah Blah) has every man in the story falling for her, it’s boring. Next!

Top 5 Wednesday 6

5.The Manic Pixie Dream Girl.

A perfect example of the manic pixie dream girl is Lux Lisbon from The Virgin Suicides, now I didn’t really like this book but that’s not the point. A MPDG is a normally quirky beautiful girl who only exists to show the male protagonist his way or teach him a valuable lesson.

There I books out there that use a MPDG that I do like because the pixie is a fleshed out character and not just a plot device. (I’m looking at you Perks of Being a Wallflower)

For the most part though women in books who have just been written to teach the male protagonist a lesson not my thing.

Offender – The Virgin Suicides

Top 5 Wednesday 7

Leave a Reply

