Love and Misadventure by Lang Leav – Review

love and

I’m trying to expand my reading and had heard a lot about Lang Leav on Tumblr and her Poetry collection Love and Misadventure. I liked the idea of a writer ( let alone a poet) made famous by Tumblr or social media in general it seemed very modern and a great thing for the medium of poetry.

Love and Misadventure Amazon description –

Lang Leav has an unnerving ability to see inside the hearts and minds of her readers. Her talent for translating complex emotions with astonishing simplicity has won her a cult following of devoted fans from all over the world. Lang Leav is a poet and internationally exhibiting artist. Her work expresses the intricacies of love and loss.

My thoughts-

I really wanted to like this I think it was a  mixture of an author made famous via social media and the topic of her poetry collection, love. I thought it sounded interesting, had promise, I don’t know what I was expecting but I really wanted to like Lang Leav. Sadly it wasn’t to be, the poems are not much better then the standard roses are red violets are blue that every child knows. There was no layers to her ‘art’ or double meaning just a rhyme and her butchered way of saying she loved a boy and he loved her or not as was sometimes the case…

Heart on the Line
Love is good,
it is never bad—
but it will drive you mad!
When it is given to you,
in dribs and drabs.

Arthur

Love and Misadventure wasn’t for me but there are plenty of positive reviews out there I think it’s just a question of taste as with anything.

Paint and Butterflies rating – 2/5 Butterflies

butterflies butterflies paint

Happy reading everyone!

Leave a Reply

