Shadowhunters (The Mortal Instruments) TV Show vs Movie

I am a huge Cassandra Clare fan and love The Mortal Instruments books so way back when (2013) The City of Bones movie burst onto our screens I was filled with hope, excitement, joy but as we all know (or you do if you’re a fan) it didn’t work out so well.

the mortal instruments the mortal instruments.jpg 2

My big problem with any book to movie adaptation is when they don’t follow they book – it doesn’t have to be to the letter, I know something’s don’t translate from page to screen BUT with something as complicated as The Shadow Hunter Chronicles and having to keep in mind a prequel series like The Infernal Devices keeping the original text in mind, and sticking to it as much as possible is a good idea (it is popular for a reason).

the mortal instruments.jpg 13 the mortal instruments.jpg 14

Lily Collins and Katherine McNamara as Clary

I do really like Lily Collins as Clary and I know this is controversial but I do like Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace so I wanted to briefly have a look at the new cast and chat about the teasers that have been released so far and THAT pilot  preview that’s been released online.

the mortal instruments.jpg 6 the mortal instruments.jpg 15

Jamie Cambell Bower and Dominic Sherwood as Jace

I saw a preview of the up and coming Shadowhunters which is going to be broadcast on ABC family soon to be rebranded as Freedform. Which is interesting in it’s self- hopefully the channel will be less ‘family’ and will have the freedom to make its shows appeal to all audiences not just the family audience. I hope so, mainly because I think some of the later content of the Shadowhunters books requires some leniency when it comes to what is considered ‘mature content.’

the mortal instruments.jpg 7 the mortal instruments.jpg 8

Robert Sheehan and Alberto Rosende as Simon

I think the casting choices are interesting, most people are going to be happy with Jace and Clary visually they look closer to how they did in the books which is a positive step forward. For me personally though Lily Collins is a talented actress and although the film wasn’t great she really did pull off a great Clary. When it comes to Jace, the most important thing for me is that his attitude is displayed correctly, he has such great one liners in the books and his back and forth with Simon is brilliant if they get that right that’s a real positive step forward to success.

the mortal instruments.jpg 9 the mortal instruments.jpg 10

Matthew Daddario and Kevin Zeggers as Alec

The pilot snippet and two teasers have been released so far if you haven’t seen them they are all available on Youtube, I don’t want to make judgements because as a fan I would love Shadowhunters to be a long running success but from what I have seen it looks a bit Vampire Academy to me which makes me think they might be going for the funny, cringe, slap stick angle rather than dark with underlying humour. Just going to have to wait and see!

the mortal instruments.jpg 11 the mortal instruments.jpg 12

Godfrey Gao and Harry Shum Jr. as Magnus

So to round up casting, so far looks good, I have only mentioned and pictured my favourite characters in this post but may go on to do a full casting post. Harry Shum Jr. is my favourite casting so far I think he is going to make a brilliant Magnus and can’t wait to see him bring the wonderful Warlock to life! Basically I can’t wait and I’m going to have to re-read City of Bones before January 2016 to get Shadowhunters ready. What to you think of the Shadowhunters casting, love the movie? Hate the movie? Do you think a successful adaptation can be done? Fangirl in the comments!

britney

Happy Reading! x

9 thoughts on “Shadowhunters (The Mortal Instruments) TV Show vs Movie

  1. As it’s now March, I’m a little late to reading this, but I think the show is actually doing pretty well, all things considered. What do you think?

    1. I am actually a little behind with the show I’ve only seen the first two episodes. I need to have a binge watch session and catch up! From what I have seen though it seems like it’s doing pretty well and as a fan of the book series I’d like to see it do well and keep getting better. 🙂

      1. As I’m in the UK, I’ve got to watch it on Netflix, which is probably a little behind anyway. I think I’m on Episode 7? I’ve noticed some things from books 2 have already happened, so the story line has been switched up a little.

      2. I’m in the U.K as well! You are still a little ahead of me if you’re on EP 7 so will look out for things from book 2 cropping up early. May have to do a series review when I’ve watched the whole thing 🙂

  2. I really have enjoyed the tv series. I like the look of the new actors better than the movie. The movie was such a disappointment to me.

Leave a Reply

