After You by JoJo Moyes – Book Review

Ebook provided by Netgalley in return of an honest review.

Spoilers for Me Before You Ahead!

Spoilerss.gif

After You is the sequel to Jo Jo Moyes international bestseller Me Before You. The first novel followed Lou Clarke a young woman stuck in a rut and suddenly finds herself desperate for a job and working for Will. Will is a former international playboy, business man and now Quadriplegic.

me before you 4
Will and Lou (or Finnick and Khaleesi!)

Will wants to die, he intends to end is life and for his friends and family the clock is ticking to change his mind and keep him living. Lou finds that in Will’s sad life she might have something to learn from a man who used to live big and Will finds that from Lou he might just have something to Learn…

Me Before You was one of my favourite reads of the year it is heartbreaking and beautiful and left me feeling like I really knew all the characters but in particular Lou and Will.

So when I heard there was going to be a sequel to a book that a genuinely LOVE I was nervous but really excited.

big yes

What did I think?

after you

After You picks up about a year after Will’s death and we take a look at the repercussions for Lou and the other characters. Lou is suffering greatly without Will and her grief leads her to getting drunk and falling off a roof(classic Lou). Her fall leads to Lou meeting the lovely Sam a paramedic and perfect for our grieving heroin.

Me Before You

After You is a book about grief, Lou’s grief, the grief of Will’s parents and the grief of characters who are new to the story. It’s  a book that is a process, Lou wanting to fore-fill her promise to Will. I really enjoyed re-visiting Lou again but as I was reading the problems I had with the original novel were still present- I don’t really like Lou’s family, I find them selfish and grasping and to be honest just really unlikable and I have similar issues with Will’s family.

me before you 2
Emilia Clarke as Lou in the up and coming film (2016)

What made Me Before You great was having Lou and Will together in their different  family dynamics and I missed the dialogue between the two of them with Nathan always in the back ground making a happy three.

I enjoyed reading After You but the best part for me was the end-

SPOILERS

When reading Me Before You and now After You all I wanted for Lou was a happy ending and After You gave me that and I’m so grateful.

Would recommend. 4/5 Stars keep your eyes peeled for the film that comes out in 2016!

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “After You by JoJo Moyes – Book Review

  1. Pingback: The Greek God Tag!

Leave a Reply

