My Top 15 Books in 2015!

2015 has been a really great year for reading I completed my Goodreads reading challenge for the first time EVER  and have been making an attempt to expand my reading choices- In no particular order here is my top 15 books of 2015!

  1. Like a Virgin by Gorgon Steel

like a virgin

Like a Virgin is a play centered around two teenage girls and the bubble gum drama that surrounds their everyday lives, for those looking to start reading plays I highly recommend. Check out my review click here.

2. Saga Vol 1 & 2 by Brian K. Vaughan 

515jeiadAzL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ saga vol 2

Saga was my big introduction to the world of graphic novels and boy was I happy to have been introduced. I really enjoyed the love story between the main characters and their trials and tribulations due to their inter-species romance and baby together not to mention the war going on around them. I have now read volume 2 and plan to read volume 3 soon!

3. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blackman

prisoner of night and fog

Prisoner of Night and Fog is a young adult novel set in the lead up to the Second World War. Gretchen had been brought up in Hitlers inner circle and he is known to her as the loving and kinds ‘Uncle Dolf’ it is only when she meets a young Jewish journalist that she realizes that her world as she knows it might not be as she seems. This was one of the first books I read in 2015 and one of my favourite books of the year I absolutely recommend.

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky

perks happy

I don’t normally like high school books but Perks is such a beautifully written story. Perks of being a wallflower is the story of Charlie a quiet high school boy who is just finding himself, his friends and coming to terms with some deep rooted issues. Perks is a heartbreaking novel but at the same time so, so beautiful.

5. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban  by J.K Rowling

prisoner of azkaban harry potter

2015 was the year of Harry Potter (well for me at least) I have been a long time fan of the films but have never actually read the books which as ‘reader’ is shocking. Prisoner of Azkaban was my favourite of the seven mainly because there is so much Lupin he is my favorite character in the books and the films and it was so great to read the more well developed book version of him and to read the Harry Potter series in its entirety.

6. The History Boys by Alan Bennett

the history boys history boys

Unlike Like a Virgin ,which, when I bought it I was naive to the plot and author when I bought The History Boys I had heard of the play, the stage play and the film. The cast is filled with well known actors and it was the plays reputation that lead me to reading it. The History Boys follows a group of Ox-bridge hopefuls and their and their teachers journey together and their attempt in getting the young hopefuls into the prestigious universities. The dialogue in this play is insane so worth reading, I only wish I could have seem it live!

7. Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H Lawrence

lady chatterly's lover Lady Chatterly's Lover pics.jpg 3

Class crossing classic love story a really interesting read.

8. The Host by Stephenie Meyer

the host mel

Alien/Human love story – four people three bodies- perfect. My Review

9. Brooklyn by Colm Toibin

brook Brooklyn 2

Beautiful Irish immigration story with a love triangle to boot, all I need now is to see the film. My Review

10. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me was my first read of 2015 I was drawn in to the Dystopian world that the prisoner Juliet embodies. She is the girl who can’t be touched, who can’t touch anyone or they will die. But some how I was enthralled in a love triangle to end all love triangles. I still need to read book 2 and three in this young adult series but as things stand  I am currently rooting for Adam.

11. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

miss peregrine

This was my last read of 2015, this book is a creepy YA read the story is told along side authentic antique photographs of children much like the little girl on the cover. The story follows Jacob whose Grandfather dies mysteriously in his arms. Jacob discovers his Grandfather has a deep, dark secret and encouraged by his Grandfathers dying words Jacob becomes determined to find out the truth.

12. Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergent tris and four

I’m sure this book needs no introduction but as of 2015 I was a newbie to the Divergent fandom. I have only read Divergent but am relatively update with the other books because I have seen all the films. Really enjoyed the Dystopian world created by Veronica Roth and Four… Four!

13.Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

Tuck2 Tuck3

What if you could live forever? My Review

14. Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

kzvn

Literature, love and Shadowhunters this is Cassandra Clare at her brilliant best. In celebration of Shadowhunters t.v show starting on Freeform in January next year I will be doing a Mortal Instruments reading challenge to refresh my memory for the up- coming series.

Clockwork Angel Review

Shadowhunters T.V Show Vs Movie

15. The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cornwall

the last kingdom 1.jpg 5 the last kingdom 1.jpg 3

Historical fiction novel following the Danish/Vicking invasion of Britain this book follows Uhtrud a young Elderman  captured by the Danes and raised to be like them and too love them. When is re-captured by the Saxon thanks to his Elderman status Uhtrud must choose is he a Saxon or is he a Dane and who is he really fighting for. In the life and times of Alfred the Great this book is set in a period when England was created, it is violent and dangerous world but so compelling and full of characters that I just wanted to know more and more.

And because I some how forgot to make it part of this list I would like to add an honorable mention. 

Me Before You by Jo Jo Moyes Me Before You is probably the book I have talked about on my blog the most this year and am really excited for the up and coming movie. Click here for an update on the movie and Click here to read my review.

me before you 1 me before you 2

I hope you enjoyed my top 15 of 2015- Happy reading X

 

3 thoughts on “My Top 15 Books in 2015!

Leave a Reply

