The Classics Book Tag

Hi everyone –  I have just seen this Classics Tag over at Erika Bookventureland the Tag was originally created by It’s a Book World. Reading more classics is one of my goals for 2016 but for now here’s a look at the classics I’ve read so far and what I hope to read in 2016 and beyond.

An over-hyped classic you didn’t really like.

I’m really on the fence about Wuthering Heights, I love the story in its self but I don’t think it’s written in the best way. I think it’s the fact it’s being told from the perspective of a guest at Wuthering Heights. Everything that happens to the characters is second/third hand information if it was from Kathy and Heathcliffs POV I think the story would have resented much more with me. I adore the (2009) adaptation with Tom Hardy though definitely worth watching.

WH
Kathy and Heathcliff (2009)

Favourite time period to read about.

I really enjoy reading about World War I & II some of my favourites are Bird Song and Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman.

birdsong

Favourite Fairy Tale. 

kit ella

My favourite fairy tale is probably Cinderella the idea of being down on your luck and being rescued appeals to most of us when we’re feeling low. But I can’t deny that Beauty and the Beast comes a close second, Belle is a lover of books after all!

What is the most embarrassing classic you haven’t read?

jane eyre

Probably Jane Eyre, thanks to endless adaptations I am very familiar with the story and prefer to read books when I don’t know the plot. But Jane Eyre is on my tbr for 2016 because I’m thinking it’s about time.

Top 5 classics you would like to read soon.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

War and Peace 1

Emma by Jane Austen

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell (I have actually started this and so far so good, the BBC series is what inspired by to start reading this and Mr. Thornton I just… ❤

1984 by George Orwell

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

Favourite modern book/series based on a classic.

splintered1

Splintered by A.G Howard is a modern day YA Re-telling of Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. If you like Alice in Wonderland, fairy-tales and a love triangle to end all love triangles then this three book series is for you.

Favourite movie/tv show based on a classic.

This is a tough one because there are some great adaptations out there but for me Pride and Prejudice would have to be fave. Mathew McFadden has to be my  favourite Darcy (sorry Colin!)

pride and

Worst classic adaptation. 

The most recent adaptation of Anna Karenina, I am a fan of Keira Knightly  and watch most of her films but this particularly adaptation was filmed in a very particular style almost like it was filmed in a theatre and I just didn’t enjoy it.

Anna and Vronsky

Favourite edition you would like to collect (more) classics from.

I love the Penguin English Library editions I already have a few and hope to carry on collecting.

An underhyped classic you’d recommend to everyone.

cheerful weather for the wedding.jpg 2

Cheerful Weather for the Wedding by Julia Strachey to read my review of the film adaptation click here.

And here are my tags! 🙂

Carries Book Reviews

Art and Soul

The Book Finch

Comfy Reading

Your Daughters Book Shelf

Hope you enjoyed my classics tag, happy reading everyone!

demelza

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Classics Book Tag

  1. Almost anything featuring Tom Hardy is worth watching! 🙂
    I can see why people don’t get on with Wuthering Heights. Not only is it all told third hand and “it all happened a long time ago”, but most of the characters are pretty unlikeable.
    I hope you do get to read Jane Eyre because it’s great.
    Thank you for tagging me 🙂

  2. AWW YOU TAGGED ME!! I didn’t even notice until I looked past the tag section to comment. My reaction: “Oh the book finch ….. wait I’m the book finch. Wait…. Me???!!!!!” Hahah n_n. I started to watch Anna Karenina but turned it off after like 8 minutes? I didn’t like the style it was shot in either. IM GOING TO GO WATCH WUTHERING HEIGHTS, I didn’t know it was a movie! I watched Pride and Prejudice the other week, so good.

    1. Ha ha! Yeah the style of Anna Karenina put me off. Wuthering Heights (2009) is really worth watching but it’s not a movie it’s a 2 part t.v series. It’s on Netflix/ Amazon and I think I’ve even seen it on Youtube. 🙂

  3. Oh wow! I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks Anna Karenina the movie is just bad. I adore this book, and when I learnt that Keira Knightley was going to be Anna, I knew the movie would be a disaster.

Leave a Reply

