Top Ten Tuesday -Ten Books that have Stuck with Me

Hi Guys and welcome to Top Ten Tuesday- Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly Meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish this weeks topic was a freebie so I chose ‘Ten Books that have Stuck with me’. As a reader I read a lot of books but there are a special few that I know will stay with me always and forever.

P.S I Love You by Cecelia Ahern 

p.s I love you

Cecelia Ahern is one of my favourite authors she is so reliable and always rights stories that draw me in. P.S I Love You (which she wrote when she was 21 btw!) Is the story of Gerry and his beloved wife Holly, when Gerry dies from Cancer he leaves her 1 years worth of letters that come to her in unique and different ways, all with the aim of building her life back together. All signed P.S I Love You.

 Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I know the classic tale of Elizabeth and Darcy inside out and will treasure it forever if you haven’t read Pride and Prejudice I recommend it highly and it is a great starter classic for the non-classic reader.

You Had me at Hello by Mhairi McFarlane

You had me at hello

Such a brilliant modern romance novel (I don’t like the term chick lit it’s so demoralizing!) A real the one that got away story, I have never shipped two people more! Flashing back and forth from university to the present day this is a heart wrenching and really funny read ❤

Summer in February by Jonathan Smith

 

Summer in February has such a special in my heart it is based in the real life diaries of Captain Gilbert Evans the Diaries were adapted into novel form by author Jonathan Smith. The book follows a group of Pre-WW1  artists in Lamorna, Cornwall, England, the artists commune had members such as A.J Munnings and Harold and Laura Knight. The story follows Gilbert and his best friend A.J as they both fall in love with the same woman and her later struggles with her mental health and suicide attempts that were to follow. The story is sat in the fringes of the first world war when the world is just waiting to burst in flames. Beautifully written and tragic Summer in February is one of my all time favourite novels, it also has a stunning movie adaptation staring Emily Browning.

To read my review of the film click here.

 Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte 

I have mixed feeling about Wuthering Heights, it’s third person narrative being one but this is a list of books that have stayed with me not my favourite books of all time. Kathy and Heathcliff are probably two of the most dislikeable lovers ever written but still their story has stayed with me and when I am feeling the need to read something cold and dark I’m sure I’ll pick up Wuthering Heights once more.

The Silver Linings Playbook by Mathew Quick 

One of the best books I’ve read where the man character/s are suffering from mental health issues. Really funny also and so quotable.

“Let me tell ya. You gotta pay attention to signs. When life reaches out with a moment like this it’s a sin if you don’t reach back… I’m telling you.”

On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves 

A teacher/ student romance, set on a deserted island, after a plane crash. I promise if you read this you will cry, I repeat YOU WILL CRY.

Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky 

This is a short novel that is so beautifully written that every sentence is quotable. Sometimes I would read pages over and over again just to take in the beauty of the language but the most beautiful thing of all is the story- A MUST READ.

Me Before You by Jo Jo Moyes 

Me Before is probably my favourite book of 2015, I remember it being a Sunday when I read it and I starting reading (meaning only to read a chapter or so) and when I looked around it was dark, the day had gone and I had finished the whole thing. Lou Clarke the main character in this novel was so relateable to me at that time in my life and her relationship with Will was so beautiful and funny. I must re-read this before the movie comes out in March 2016 – staring Emilia Clarke from Game of Thrones as Lou.

My Me Before You Movie Update

My Me Before You Book Review

The Host by Stephanie Meyer 

I always think Stephanie Meyer gets a bad rep because of (cough) Twilight. But if Twilight is the reason you haven’t read The Host yet then you are missing out. I have read this book twice now and I’m really not a re-reader. The earth has been invaded and Melanie’s body has been taking over by the alien species known as Souls, a Soul called Wanda.

To read a full in-depth review of The Host click here.

So that’s it! I hope you enjoyed my Top Ten Tuesday, happy reading everyone!

thumbs up

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday -Ten Books that have Stuck with Me

Leave a Reply

