Soundtrack To My Life – Book Tag

I saw this Tag on The Books out Loud and thought it looked like a lot of fun so although I haven’t been tagged I couldn’t resist getting involved.

Opening Credits: favourite childhood book:

I read a lot of Jacqueline Wilson as a child some of my favorites were The Suitcase Kid, The Lottie Project and girls in Girls in Love.

the lottie project  girls in love

Waking up: A book that got you out of a reading slump:

I do go through reading slumps now and again and I usually find a guilty pleasure young adult novel does the trick. Existence by Abbi Glines got me out of one hell of a reading slump!

School: A book that you ended up reading for school and ended up loving it:

Anything by William Shakespeare – studying Shakespeare at school lead me to a life long love with the Bard and his plays but at school I particularly enjoyed Romeo and Juliet and Twelfth Night.

Twelfth Night romeo and juliet

Falling In Love: An author you love so much you want to read all of their books:

I actually don’t read books based on author, it’s all about the story for me and what I think sounds interesting.

Fight: Book with the best action sequences:

I read The Last Kingdom by Bernard Cornwell last year a historical fiction series about Vikings and Danes and the formation of England as we know it. As well as being completely gripping it has some great battle scenes that really draw you in to the time that is being written about.

last kingdom

Break up: A book or series you didn’t finish and do not intend to finish:

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gainman I know people love this book but it lost me about 3/4 of the way through and I put it down and have never had the will to pick it back up.

Hanging with friends: A book that you think everyone should read:

P.S I Love You by Cecelia Ahern.

p.s I love you

Breakdown: Book that seriously affected you or had you crying your eyes out:

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes I adore this book I read it in a day and sobbed while reading it. I can’t wait for the film adaptation to come out later this year.

lou and will 2

Road Trip: Your favorite series (more than 3 books):

I don’t like to be obvious and say Harry Potter but Harry Potter also Saga, The Infernal Devices, Outlander.

saga vol 2 dragonfly in amber harry potter

Flashback: Your favorite book from 5 years ago:

Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer

the office us

Getting Back Together: A book you can’t stop rereading:

I’m not a massive re-reader if I do it is my absolute faves, so the likes of Summer in February by Jonathan Smith or The Host by Stephanie Meyer.

Moment of Triumph: Longest book you’ve ever read:

Easily Anna Karenina, read it a couple of years ago and I think the only things that have come close are Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and Outlander.

o3

Death Scene: Book or series you wish had ended differently:

Brooklyn- I really enjoyed this book and really empathized with the character and what she was going through but the ending (ahhh the ending!!) To read my full review  on Brooklyn click the link.

Brooklyn 7

Funeral: Book with the best or worst epilogue: 

I can’t actually think of any particularly outstanding epilogues right now …

End Credits: Who do you tag?

Because I wasn’t tagged for the post I’m just going to tag all of you- all of you who are reading this.

Well, I hope you enjoyed the soundtrack to my life book tag!

Happy reading everyone!

oona chaplin

2 thoughts on “Soundtrack To My Life – Book Tag

Leave a Reply

