Cinder by Marissa Meyer Review

Title:Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1)

Author:Marissa Meyer

Publisher:Puffin Books

Edition:Paperback

Genre: Young Adult 

cinder Luna

I have had a copy of Cinder for over a year now it was a birthday gift from a bookish (non blogger friend) but has sat on my shelves patiently waiting to be read. I have to admit I have put of reading The Lunar Chronicles the idea of Cinderella but as cyborg didn’t really appeal to me.

What is it about?

Cinder is more than just Cyborg /Cinderella Cinder is a complex Young Adult Fairytale re-telling with new ideas and a new world to wade through. The story focuses on Cinder a Cyborg living in New Beijing with her adoptive family, her country is swamped by a plague which is killing people within days and has no cure. Her youngest stepsister soon contracts the plague and Cinder’s family blames her. Adri, Cinder’s Stepmother is quick to sell her Cyborg stepdaughter and give her body for medical research. Cyborgs have no rights, seen as less than human Cinder finds she has no choice and is taken away to tested on until her inevitable death.  (Don’t worry though there is still a Prince and a pretty dress and oh yeah a shoe well, a foot!)

ella.gif

Cinder vs Cinderella

When studying at University part of my dissertation was fairy-tales effect on feminism  and because of this I have spent a lot of time researching fairy-tales and their origins – particularly Cinderella. One thing that I learnt that Cinderella’s most like to have originated from China (not France thank you Brothers Grimm).  So it was really interesting reading Cinder as it is set in Beijing (New Beijing) but still. Having Asian characters felt right for a story which more than likely came from that culture and if nothing else it made for a diverse reading experience and we always want more of that right?

What did I think?

Over all I think Cinder is a great part one to a series, the first one hundred pages or so were slow but after that it picked up and I got really engrossed in the story. There is a love interest which (considering we are reading Cinderella) is not to romance heavy it’s cheeky and cute and I can’t wait to here more from Cinder and Kai.

Definitely going to be picking up Book 2 Scarlet very soon!

3/5 Paint and Butterflies Stars!

Hope you enjoyed my review,

Happy reading everyone!

kit ella

7 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer Review

  1. Great review! I’m glad you said that it takes some time to get into the story…I’m really intrigued, but a little scared to start and not love it as much as everyone else does. So I’ll make sure to remember that when I start reading it…soon! 😀 Thank you for this! 🙂

  2. Great review. I totally agree that the first portion of the book was a bit slow going. But once it grabs you, you’re set for the next couple hundred pages which is what I liked about it. Also, the very subtle blossoming of a romance in this book was so welcome after reading book after book with in-your-face couples. I still have yet to continue on completely with the rest of the series since I hit a bit of a snag with Scarlet but… eventually!

Leave a Reply

