Let’s talk about Shadowhunters!

shadowhunters

Disclaimer these are just my opinions and are not meant to offend anyone!

I think  I should say before I begin that I am a big fan of The Mortal Instruments/ Infernal Devices (I am yet to read Lady Midnight) and ever since the terrible but I think we can all  say well-meaning film adaptation I have gone into this series with trepidation and LOW expectations. I think it’s fair to say that the casting is just better than the film but my only real issue is Magnus but I’ll get there- one thing at a time.

jace clary

I did want to wait until I watched the whole series and do a series review but… I thought it was okay to have a chat about Shadowhunters before season 1 wraps. I was watching Youtube today and I heard PolandBanana Books say something which made sense to me, (I am power phrasing here) but basically she said when it comes to fantasy there are rules and you have to stick to those or no one knows what’s going on. I think she makes a really good point, the great thing about Cassandra Clare’s books is that she has created the Shadow World weather reading about Shadow Hunters in Victorian London or Modern day New York us as readers know the rules. We know how a Stele works, what Runes do what a Parabati is (lets all pause for a Will and Jem moment) but the show has blundered in and broken a lot of these fundamental rules which for me when watching the show play out is problematic. The biggest ‘rule break’ for me in the show so far is Alec and Jace and their Parabati bond.

jem and will

Spoilers from here on guys!

When I think of Parabati I think of Will and Jem the ultimate Parabati they were in love with the same woman from crying out load and they still loved each other just as much, their bond was that unbreakable the only thing that can break a Parabati bond is death, death! It is not so easily broken by one Parabati ‘searching for the other’ or being angry at the other.

alec

Parabati can angry, furious at the other but are still prepared to die for the other and that’s what separates the books from the show they are failing to show the love that should exist between Alec and Jace all because of that bond.
Following along the lines of rules or rule breaking we all know Shadowhunters heal, get their power from Runes so can someone please tell me why Jace was having a blood transfusion in the last episode? What? I mean huh? Seriously?

What

I feel like it is necessary to mention the whole Micheal Wayland Valentine Glamour thing- (pulls exasperated face) the thing is it is these such plot holes/ unnecessary plot devices that give book adaptations a bad name. Is it necessary to once again dumb down material which has been so successful? But I should say that I am enjoying the show and I do want it to be successful but I think at the moment it’s a bit of a ruff and ready adaptation.

valentine

I just want to briefly mention Magnus, Harry Shum Jr is a great casting choice but what is with all Magnus’ dialogue? It is all so beggy in regards to Alec, book Magnus is my favourite character and has so much wit and so much sass he is missing his Magnus charm and I hope we get to see more of the Magnus we know and love soon!

magnus

Finally, I want to mention Jace and Simon (Jace) and the Jace Simon relationship is the biggest let down for me- book Jace has funny line after funny line, his sniping with Simon made me laugh out loud while reading I hope we get to see more of this hilarious relationship.

jace

But having said all that I am really enjoying this show so far and looking forward to seeing the rest of the season and super excited for season 2!

Hope everyone is enjoying Shadowhunters!

Happy Reading Everyone!

izzy

 

One thought on “Let’s talk about Shadowhunters!

Leave a Reply

