Passenger by Alexandra Bracken -Review

passenger alexandra bracken

Title: Passenger

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Number in series: 1

Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Rating: 2/5

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Passenger from Netgalley in return for an honest review. 

I have been really excited to read Passenger it has been so hyped up, every review I read of it seems to be a positive one and it is involving one of my favourite tropes – time travel.

Sadly though Passenger really didn’t do it for me. Passenger follows Etta a prodigy violinist who, in the middle of the performance of her life finds out that she is a time traveler. I think this book had the intention of being a swashbuckling, sea- faring, romantic ride. Instead though the ship sank, and the romance was all a bit insta-lovey (eww)

clueless-like-its-a-bad-thing

I personally don’t think the quality of the writing was that great, in regards to the romance these characters love to talk about how each other smell ALL THE TIME which is apparently of the earth and the sea (so dirt and salt then? Sighs).

Passenger is the type of book which is very dialogue heavy- I normally love this in a book because if done well (shout out Cassandra Clare) you can really get into the head and personality of the characters. Etta and Nicholas are the characters who are predominantly speaking to each other; my problem is there is no differentiating between the characters when reading. The dialogue is all really monotone and after a while just blends into one, stunting my ability to get to know the characters on any kind of deeper level.

twirl

I did find Passenger I bit of a slog, I was bored, the story was predictable  and this book is essentially a time travel romance and if you are going to do time travel you better do it well because it has been done soo many times before. (*Shout out Outlander and The Rose Garden*)

jamie and claire

For me this wasn’t great, I didn’t really connect to the characters and I won’t be coming back for book 2.

However, there were some good moments some moments of light, humor and a handsome (and diverse) male protagonist and that’s why this is a two star rather than a 1-star rating.

I hope you enjoyed my review,

Happy reading everyone!

hook

2 thoughts on “Passenger by Alexandra Bracken -Review

Leave a Reply

