The Best Boys (And Men) In Books

I was thinking about my post from International Women’s Day where I talked about my favourite fictional females. Today I am going to giving the boys and men of literature their turn and talking about my favourite boys in books.

Ian – The Host by Stephenie Meyer My review of The Host

Ian

Ian is the ultimate guy with an open mind, he starts the story thinking one thing and by the end thinking something completely different, here’s one chap willing to change and grow.

Jem – The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare Clockwork Angel – Review

jem

If you have read the Infernal devices you know it is filled with two great guys and it was tough picking which of the two would make this list but for me , Jem always pips Will to the post everytime. In YA, Brooding bad boys are ten a penny but a real nice guy? That’s something special.

Mr.Darcy- Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen 

md

Ahh Mr.Darcy a classic. Now I think we can all agree Mr Darcy makes some pretty awful decisions but, in the end he comes good and his broody melodrama is part of why we love him.

Charlie- The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky 

charlie.jpg

Deep, introverted Charlie. Charlie has a love for books and has deeply perceptive take on the world, as well as been sweet and kind. Even though Charlie has had it rather tough at times- let’s not forget he’s a wallflower.

Magnus Bane- The Shadow Hunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

magnus 3

I cannot describe my love for this character, he is a funny, witty, riot of a Warlock. He has a weakness for a pretty boy (or girl) and at the end of day has a heart of gold (but prefers that you don’t know that, he has a reputation to maintain!)

Will- Labyrinth by Kate Mosse 

will

If you have read Labyrinth you know Will starts off the story as a bit of a dubious character. Leeching off his older lover and putting his dreams aside he is a bit of a lost soul, but Will goes on a journey, which turns him into the loving man that he was always meant to be.

Lupin – Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling

Professor Lupin is my favourite Harry Potter character, he is clever and funny with a heart of gold and I think we can all agree he goes through the ringer in the duration of the series.

lupin

Will – Me Before You by JoJo Moyes Me Before You – Review

Me Before You is one of my all-time favourite books, I know I have said here before but I read it in a day. Will is such an interesting character with such depth but what I enjoy most from Will is his snarky personality. He is going through a traumatic personal experience and deals with it by being well pretty awful and I think that is a totally relatable way of dealing with a trauma. Me Before You is a must read!

will traynor

Captain Gilbert Evans – Summer in February by Jonathan Smith 

Last but certainly not least is Gilbert Evans, Gilbert Evans is part of one of my favourite love triangles ever! This kind and sweet Captain is often over shadowed and later betrayed by his best friend A.J Munnings. But with a moral compass that A.J doesn’t possess he fights for life, love and in the end war.

gilbert

Hope you enjoyed by post of favourite boys (men) in books!

I can be found-

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

Happy Reading Everyone!

dge

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Best Boys (And Men) In Books

  1. Fantastic choices. I definitely agree with you in regards to Magnus Bane. He is truly an incredible character, probably one of my all time favourite in fact. And Professor Lupin. I love when his character is introduced. And I love the journey that he takes during the books. Perfect. Absolutely, perfect.

Leave a Reply

