My Top Ten Romantic Reads- My Recommendations

Hi Guys, today I am taking a look at some of my favourite romantic reads I know romance in books isn’t for everyone one but I do love a good romantic storyline, whether is be the whole plot or just an underlying storyline here are some of my favourite romantic reads and recommendations. Now whenever I mention romance in books I seem to bring up The Host or Me Before You so although I love those books they have been deliberately left off this list.

In no particular order

You Had Me at Hello by Mhairi McFarlane

You had me at hello happy dance

Me Before You is a classic piece of Chic Lit now I look back on it. But when reading this book I have never wanted two fictional characters to get together more and their on /off romance infuriates me (in a good way) like no other.

Summer in February by Jonathan Smith 

summer in february summer-in-february-international-146

I always try and talk about Summer in February because I just don’t think enough people have read it. Based on the real-life diaries that were later turned into a novel by author Jonathan Smith. Summer in February is the tale of a Captain who lives and works within the infamous Lamorna artists colony. Known for producing artists such as Laura Knight and Alfred Munnings. The is a story of love on the cusp of war and art and the friendships we make.

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

CP2_cover SO SAD

Book three in the Infernal Devices Trilogy I don’t want to say too much as I want to keep it spoiler free but if you haven’t already read this series pick it up you’re missing out!

Down to You by M.Leighton

d2u fhdhd

This New Adult trilogy is full of love, romance, and twin brothers, what more do you need?

Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H Lawrence 

lady chatterly's lover Lady Chatterly's Lover pics.jpg 2

A complex character focused story about the ties that bind us and the things we desire.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon 

O1 Outlander 2014

Outlander is an on-going time travel saga, book one Outlander focusing on married woman Claire Randell and her love affair with a Scottish man from the past.Time travel is a trope that I really enjoy but it’s hard to find writers that do it really well, Outlander is a great example of Time Travel done brilliantly!

On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

Summer covers 5 cry

The premise of this novel sounds a bit (raises eyebrows) it’s the whole teacher/student relationship trope but it is such a tear jerker and a must read, perfect for the beach.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen 

pride and p pride prejudice

Mr. Darcy nuff said.

Atonement by Ian McEwan

atonement embrassed turn

Atonement is one of the best WWI novels I have ever read, a story of love, lies and betrayal and the writing is exquisite.

Tamara Drewe by Posey Simmonds 

Tamara Drewe 2 Tamara Drewe 1

Tamara Drewe is a graphic novel (that was later adapted to film) by Posy Simmonds. Loosely based on Far from the Madding Crowd. Tamara Drewe tells the story of one woman and the three men in her life.

I hope you enjoyed my Romantic Recommendations –

I can be found-

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

Happy reading everyone!

tris

Leave a Reply

