Top Ten Tuesday- Books That Will Make You Laugh

Welcome back to Top Ten Tuesday which is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely people over at The Broke & the Bookish this weeks topic is books that will make you laugh (or at least chuckle). While participating in this weeks Top Ten Tuesday I realised that I don’t read a lot of ‘funny’ books, books with funny moments (or characters) but not where comedy or humour is the main objective- having spent some time thinking about it here is my list.

books

In no particular order-

My Booky Wook by Russell Brand 

Essentially an autobiography from comedian Russell Brand talks of Russell’s early years and his struggle with drug and sex addiction all told through his unique voice and prose.

my booky wook

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

I feel like I need to specify that ANY of Cassandra Clare’s books could have made with list except maybe Clockwork Princess *wipes tear from eye*, she is the queen of witty dialogue. I chose City of Bones because it has some of my favourite Simon and Jace moments they have such great back and forth in the early days.

city of bones

You Had Me At Hello by Mhairi Mcfarlane 

You Had Me at Hello is a love story between best friends which makes for some super cute, super hilarious moments this book also tugs on the hearts strings as well.

You had me at hello

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian centres around one man in a dire situation it his strong sense of humor that gets him through and it’s  the comedic writing that makes The Martian a must read.

the martian

The Silver Linings Playbook by Mathew Quick

Although not automatically thought of as a funny book The Silver Linings Playbook has some great emotionally charged funny moments guaranteed to make you think.

fhdfh

Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

This a funny, witty and charming graphic novel and has real nack for writing about family.

saga vol 2

Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

I feel like Me Before You is everywhere right now and this makes me so happy because it’s one of my favourite books. Although the story is fundamentally quite heart wrenching Lou and Will provide some great laugh out loud moments.

me before you 1

Cheerful Weather for the Wedding by  Julia Strachey 

A comedy about family – set on the morning of a young woman’s wedding while her former lover waits down stairs.

cheerful

Tamara Drewe by Posey Simmonds 

Posey Simmonds very British graphic novel based on Far from the Madding Crowd Tamara Drewe is a hilarious romp set in the English country -side with three love interests to boot!

Tamara Drewe 2

P.S I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

Yes, P.S I Love You is a sad book but through the tears, there is a lot of laughter to be had.

p.s I love you

Hope you enjoyed my Top Ten Tuesday Everyone!

Happy Reading!

thriller.gif 2

Come find me!

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday- Books That Will Make You Laugh

  1. City of Bones is making a ton of appearances this week, and by no accident! I absolutely love City of Bones, especially due to its humour. Jace’s sarcasm is simply perfect and I just love Simon’s sense of humour 🙂

  2. I think you’re a mind reader because a couple days ago I was thinking that I need more comedy in books! And I was going to ask for recommendations 😄 I had no idea about The Martian’s style of writing, but it makes me much more interested in reading it sooner!

Leave a Reply

