Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Fictional Mothers

Hi guys welcome back to Top 5 Wednesday, Top 5 Wednesday was originally created by  gingerreadslainey and is now hosted by YouTuber Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. This week’s topic is Favourite Fictional Mothers, now as I was looking back over the books I have read and my favourite mothers in books I realised how noticeably absent in books Mums and mother figures are. I know this is a recurring problem in Young Adult but I don’t think this is just a YA problem I think it is a generally bookish problem- where are all the Mums people? 

But here are the Mums I have enjoyed reading and what I have enjoyed about them the most!

Pride and Prejudice 

Mrs Bennett 

mrs bennett

Now I know when thinking of Mrs Bennett the first thought isn’t ‘mother of the year’ but I do think she has some great qualities. Mrs Bennett is very much a woman of her time and is very aware that her daughters have nothing to inherit and will be in a tough situation if they don’t get married. She makes marrying her daughters off her mission and although she doesn’t always get it right (most of the time she gets it very, very wrong) and often smothers her daughters to death but her heart is always in the right place.

Harry Potter Series

Molly Weasley

molly

Molly Weasley is my favourite mother in any book, she loves her kids, she cares about their well-being. When they have done something stupid or dangerous she tells them off, she practically adopted Harry and who could forget the way she kicked Bellatrix’s ass!

Tuck Everlasting

Mae Tuck

mae

The whole Tuck family have been through a lot and Mrs Tuck is the glue that’s holding the family together and when Winnie comes into their lives she extends that stability and that love to her.

Fifty Shades of Grey Series

Dr Grace Trevelyan

grace

I know, Fifty Shades controversial, I do have a lot of problems with this series as a whole but I don’t have a problem with Christian’s mum Grace. She adores her two adoptive children and is well aware that as a young child Christian has been through and seen some pretty disturbing things. When she finds out about Christian’s affair with ‘Mrs Robbinson’ she is horrified that she missed what was happening with her underage son and although he is now an adult still goes straight into over protective Mum mode. -Love her.

Saga Series 

Alana

Alana saga

Alana is a solider, has her baby in the middle of a war, goes on the run, she is protective, loving and full of some great one-liners.

I hope you enjoyed my Top 5 Wednesday!

Happy Reading Everyone!

matt and jenna

Come find me!

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

 

 

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Fictional Mothers

  1. Awesome choices, I absolutely love Molly Weasley! Do you think she would adopt me?! Haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

