City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare- Review

Stop. If you have not read all the books in The Mortal Instruments Series and The Infernal Devices then this review will spoil things for you- step away now!

This month has been the month of The Mortal Instruments for me (and Shadowhunter Academy and Lady Midnight) This book was such a great round up to a series that I started reading three years ago with City of Bones. I went on a bit of a Shadowhunters hiatus when I finished City of Glass because (and I know some of you will agree) it does feel like a finale. When I started watching the Shadowhunters t.v show on Netflix it all came back to me, this world, this wonderful, wonderful world and what I was missing but not finishing the rest of the series.

cohf

City of Heavenly Fire is so clever the way it interweaves new characters Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn right at the start. We get to know Emma, Julian  and the rest of the Blackthorn children from the beginning of book all ready paving the way for them to take over as the new protagonists in the Dark Artifices.

When we meet Emma and Julian and the rest of the Blackthorns the terrible Sebastian is turning Shadowhunters into his very own Endarkened army getting them to drink from his own sick, Sebastian version of The Mortal Cup. Just replace Angel blood with Demon blood and Sebastian has his very own recipe for zombie, Shadowhunters with kickass fighting skills, all willing to follow him to the end of the world (Evil villain plus evil army sounds like disaster waiting to happen.)

sebastian

Now it has taken five and a bit books for Clary and Jace to get their acts together first there was Simon, there was the whole brother and sister thing, then Jace was being all Herondale-y about EVERYTHING. Finally, Clace are in a good(ish) place I mean it is the end of the world after all and Jace is always going to be Jace (aka such a drama queen) but it’s in the blood *coughs Will*.

clary jace

My favourite ship was not doing as well, in City of Lost Souls held some dramatic moments for me- the Malec breakup. City of Heavenly Fire continues on in this vein, I cannot tell you how many times I said out loud “Magnus just tell Alec who Will is!” So frustrating, but in the best possible way and when Magnus is taken with Raphael, Josealenne and Luke and our A team (Clary, Jace, Alec Izzy and Simon) go to rescue them I loved the moment Alec broke down to Jace was like how would you feel if Clary had been taken? Poor Alec going out his mind and his Parabatai didn’t notice how afraid he was feeling (Jace why are you always so self-involved?).

the smile

The witty dialogue and character development is something I LOVE about Cassandra Clare’s writing you never feel like you are on the outside looking in on the story but really in the book living it with the characters.

Simon is really the hero of this story for me and City of Heavenly Fire just finishes off the journey he has been through in the novels so perfectly – Mundane, Vampire – Clary, Izzy. He saves Magnus, he might have lost his memories but he saved Magnus  and in my book that makes him a true hero.

sizzy

I just want to take a moment to talk about Brother Zachariah after reading Clockwork Princess I knew, I flipping knew he was going to make an appearance now I’m bias Jem’s my favourite character in all of Cassandra Clare’s books (Magnus is chomping at his heels mind you!) Seeing him ‘back’, talk about Tessa about Will *sheds tear* I’m really looking forward to seeing him and Tessa make future appearances in Lady Midnight and Beyond.

Overall this was an epic last instalment, Shadowhunters books are fun, funny and with ships to go down with!

5/5 Paint and Butterflies Stars!

Happy Reading Everyone!

emma watson.gif

Come Find Me

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

My Shadowhunters reviews and things

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – Review

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare – Review

Tessa/Will Reading Challenge

The Mortal Instruments Film vs Shadowhunters TV Show

Let’s Talk About Shadowhunters!

City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare- Review

City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare- Review

 

 

Leave a Reply

