Reading Slumps, October, Writing and my TBR!

Reading or lack of…

This past couple of months has been a hard one from a reading perspective I have been a very big reading slump. I hate reading slumps, they’re so frustrating but they do happen to me now and again. I have always found that the right book normally gets me through and I have hunted high and low for THAT book to get me through my slump but it took me longer than normal to find it, so I have been suffering a bit of a drought. So September and the beginning of October was a bit dry on the reading front.

emily

But I have recently started reading The Lesser Bohemians a novel about a drama student with an older lover- I loved the concept of the book when I first heard about it and now I have started reading it, it has the most interesting narrative structure.

Written in the form of prose, The Lesser Bohemians is more like a 300-page poem than a novel but it is beautifully written and the story is really interesting and I can’t wait to read more!

lesser

Now I am back in the reading swing of things I have some really interesting books on my TBR pile but I am particularly excited about The Muse and The Essex Serpent which I cannot wait to get too!

Writing…

Another reason for my lack of reading is my writing.

the girl

For those of you who don’t know, I am currently writing the first draft of my first book The Girl Who Fell Out of the Ocean which is available of Wattpad (I’m @paintandbutterflies). I am close to the end now with the last few chapters to go, and while writing my first novel has been a real learning curve I am looking forward to having my whole story (well the first draft) done so I can concentrate on a serious edit.

How has your Autumn reading been going? Got any new and interesting books on your TBR?

See you next time guys,

Happy reading and writing everyone xx

r and c.gif

Come Find Me

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

Watt Pad

4 thoughts on “Reading Slumps, October, Writing and my TBR!

  1. Ugh, reading (and writing) slumps are the worst! Glad to hear you’ve gotten through it though. Also excited for you to hear that you’re almost finished the first draft of your novel! Congrats! That’s a huge accomplishment!

    (Cute new header btw)

Leave a Reply

